For the next four minutes of my piece, I wanted to use more real instruments rather than synths. Before I started composing, I was able to get a subscription to EastWest Sound’s ComposerCloud, which provided me with a large pack of more realistic instrument plugins for my music. The sound of the instruments included really impressed me, and I feel that it has helped to give my music a much smoother feel.

While composing this week, I tried to use more chords I wasn’t used to using, mainly the major 7 and 9 chords. I felt that using chords like these helped to color the music more and as a result make it higher quality. I used these chords to have a main recurring “theme” that I had several instruments solo over. Nearing the end of the piece, I introduced a new section that I plan to expand on for next week.

--

--