Where The Motivation Has Gone…

Christopher McDowell
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
4 min readApr 8, 2020

Let me tell you story of a time where there was a time in which I had excitement to begin production of a project. I couldn't wait to just fire away at exploring methods on creating something that I felt I had a personal connection with. Whether that be a painting, video, a story, etc. Moments like those don’t come to often, and when they do, there are no breaks taken from the amount of fun that’s being produced. It was a wonderful feeling to have. Then everything changed when a pandemic attacked.

And now I’m here, sitting in a room and typing this paper, unsure of whats to come next and slowly losing my desire to finish any of my work. I haven’t got much progress on my Thesis as of late, mainly because of all the overwhelming thoughts bouncing back and forth within my on mind. Its one of the worst feelings a person could have at this point and time, and if I’m being honest, can you really blame them. Experts have said that the current state of affairs could worsen in the next couple of months with no solution in sight for quite some time. With an ever impending storm lingering of me and millions of other students in the same predicament, Its hard to muster up any courage to give a single thought about any work that has to be done. It would seem that the motivation that has once exited at a point in-time, has gone off to a place that it wishes to not be found.

Currently I don’t think I am well suited to tell anyone what they should do, But I think I have some methods we can try in hopes of making it comeback. As we all should remember, that even though things seem incredibly bleak on the horizion, it is still not the end of the world. So lets make an effort to gain that motivation back, and return to our roots as thinkers, designers, and opportunists even in times of sheer uncertainty.

Music

A great way to feel like your in the zone to work is listening to your favorite song artist or any type of music that strikes your fancy. Just remember to have fun. When I work, sometimes I either turn on some good Led Zeppelin or I switch to a live Lofi Radio Station on YouTube. I don’t even need to say that there are millions of songs out there to pick in chose from because there are. Yes, I am fully aware of the fact that this is a basic method that pretty much everyone says the same thing, but anything to make those gears turn is a method that one should be willing to try. Sit back and enjoy the sounds of music.

Outdoor Walks

Social distancing is still in effect, curfews are also roaming areas around the country, and the fear of stepping outside of the door is becoming more and more prominent. However. that doesn't me that you can’t leave. If you have some spare time on ether a break from you indoor job, or your working on a project and what to take a quick breather, don’t be afraid to just step outside and take a walk around a park, sidewalk, or street corner. It may be risky leaving the home, but its not like you will be surrounded by others, and hell, it may be the perfect time to do it because there won’t be a lot of people around.

Consume Less Media

This one should be a mandatory practice for everyone. The media will be covering the pandemic 24/7, and nine times out of ten, it will be more bad news. It is important to keep up to date on the current state of the situation, but that doesn't mean you have to let it consume your mind. Do yourself a favor and put that phone down, turn it off if you have to. Close the CNN tab you have open on your computer and try to have things in front of you that are of interests. If you like puppets, have some pictures of puppets open up for yourself. If you like books, turn on an audio version. Point being is that you should surround yourself with things you either have a general interest in or make you feel happy. Too much of something could kill ya one says, but if its something you enjoy, the chances are incredibly low. Build motivation by using the interests you have in order to create new ideas and get that spark shining one again.

I hope this was a comforting read and helped you all in some way. I should be taking my own advice, but if you can adopt my advice better then I can, then my work is complete. Just remember to allow creativity to flow once again. Block out all of the negative energy and make it an effort to enjoy what is right in front of you, even if it means a little at this point, It is still something that is worth fighting for.

--

--

Christopher McDowell
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020

I’m just a 25-year-old graphic artist who is interested in the world of illustration