2016 Senior Showcase WrapUp

Meena
IMM Senior Showcase 2016
2 min readMay 17, 2016

Bio: I am a visual designer focusing on graphic design, branding, and marketing. I have created content for various print and digital platforms, and am currently finishing my degree in Interactive Multimedia Studies with a minor in Marketing at The College of New Jersey.

Project Summary: Color through the Ages is a web site that showcases the history of pigments used in fine arts. Artists have sourced colors from various minerals, animals, plants, and other materials. Some of these pigments were rare, some were labor-intensive, and some were poisonous. Color through the Ages highlights the evolution of these pigments. My portfolio website showcases my graphic design work and experience to date.

Tools Used: Adobe Illustrator, Adobe Photoshop, WordPress

Showcase: The IMM showcase is an event hosted by the department at the end of the year where seniors display their thesis projects. The event is free in the AIMM building for the people to walk around and see everyone’s projects.

Challenges: I had some trouble figuring out what I wanted to do for my thesis and kept changing ideas rather than actually working on my project. It was also hard for me to find time to work on my project and just decide on things so I could move on to working on other things.

Advice to future students: Start working on your project earlier and over winter break. It is easier to just have to update or change something if you’ve already started it than having to create it in the first place. For the showcase, also start thinking about how you want to present your project ahead of time. I would have liked to have some more things printed but was not able to finalize the materials ahead of time. As for the event planning, it would also be helpful to start planning for the event in the first semester.

--

--