Afterburn

Drew Bloksberg
IMM Senior Showcase 2016
2 min readMay 4, 2016

Drew is a film and animation enthusiast with a sense of humor and the ability to make interesting videos through the adobe suite.

Afterburn is a mock/parody of the news mixed with lovecraftian themes. At it’s heart, it’s a true cosmic horror TV show. It prides itself on being impossible to describe, but if you had to, it’s the “Daily Show” meets the “Necronomicon.” Afterburn used After Effects, Premiere, Mocha, Photoshop, Audition, and Logic Pro X for the majority with various other programs learned for various reasons.

The biggest challenges were the learning curve for setting up sets, learning the programs, and designing certain big parts of the project. I had very minimal work in Premiere, no work in After Effects, and no green screen experience prior to starting this project. I’ve always been captivated by film and this project forced me to learn the editing parts that I fell in love with.

My advice to anyone getting into all of this is; find what you love and be willing to put in countless hours over something that may be seen as crazy and nobody will get. Though your starting pitch may seem like gibberish, show them what you can do. This project took actual days to put together over about a year’s time. If you aren’t in love with the programs you’re using, it’ll be hell.

If I were going to do this over, I’d change my original set by a good deal for better audio and lighting, I’d spend more time making effects, and I’d try to find a higher quality camera since all my other projects have since been in 4K but I truly enjoyed the time spent on this project and the abilities it’s forced me to manifest.

--

--