Economy of Work

Domenic Portera
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
2 min readMar 8, 2017
All art is subject to change and likely will. Needless to say, lighting isn’t complete.

This week of work has been the fastest progress I’ve made on Uproot since its beginning, from an art perspective. My modeling speed has never been faster, but most significantly is that I have gotten quite adept at laying out UVs for my models. This is my first project to make extensive use of specific UV space, as my previous projects have largely consisted of solid colors. I have also become comfortable using Substance Designer to create materials.

This week I created nine textured models for the game at record time, but was only able to do so so quickly through the re-use of materials. By creating furniture using the same wooden texture and aligning UVs in a way that allows for this re-use, I was able to pump out a handful of textured models quickly.

If I can continue to optimize my workflow by maximizing the reuse of assets while maintaining visual intrigue, I should be in good standing in terms of finishing the visual art for the game on time. It will not be easy, but it’s certainly possible, as long as I continue to suppress my perfectionist tendencies.

--

--

Domenic Portera
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017

Game developer and student at The College of New Jersey. Currently developing a narrative video game, Bound (WT), out in Q2 2017.