Editing in Hindsight and Stories From Job Land

Christopher Lundy
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
3 min readMar 29, 2017

In the glorious and immortal words of Mr. Charlie Day, jobs don’t just “grow on jobies.” It takes a significant amount of time, preparation, and determination. I believe I’m just beginning to scratch the surface of this process with my very first post-college interview coming up next week. The interview pertains to an Assistant Editor position in a post-production house specializing in making trailers and teasers for film and TV in New York City. Out of all of the places I applied, oddly enough, this interview opportunity came from a job post through the conduit of LinkedIn.

LinkedIn Jobs has actually been my main source for job searching alongside Indeed, native company websites, and of course reaching out to my network. Traversing the limitless job postings, I’ve found that LinkedIn Jobs offers the most applicable positions over the broadest range, oftentimes sourcing company website job postings that wouldn’t be listen anywhere else. I’ve been applying consistently to a variety of position in New York and LA through these mediums and refining my professional image along the way.

Recent updates to my website include a new video banner that acts as a first step toward an official demo reel for videography and editing as well as a musical scoring reel.

Videography and Editing Reel v1.0
Film Score Demo Reel v1.0

The scoring reel became instrumental in gaining the interest of my perspective employer who saw my eye for moods and timing with respect to an audio visual piece.

Other professional updates include some minor adjustments to my resume as well as professional email signature created using the standard gmail signature designer.

Professional email signature including links to personal work and professional media.

Editing in Hindsight

As I begin touching up my past films and begin integrating them into a larger story ark, I began to notice something peculiar. There are edit adjustments that appear obvious to me now as opposed to at the time of production nearly a year ago. It is interesting to ask the question:

Is my eye for timing better today than it was a year ago? Or do time constraints and situational factors affect the thought process when editing?

I believe that the answer is a little of both in that a year makes a huge difference in not just proficiency but experience, especially in college. As far as situational constraints, most of my previous work was created within the span of a week meaning that some timings and final polishing was forgone in favor of finishing on time. As I continue to fix what has been broken for so long in my past films, I will be editing as if I was creating the material in today’s climate with (god willing) a decent amount more time.

--

--