Final Preparations, One Week Left

Eric O'Hare
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
1 min readApr 18, 2017

We are now in the final week of completing this year-long project. Ironically, I find myself relatively calm, rational, stable, etc. This is the complete opposite of what I imagined I would be like back in January, or even back in September. Back then, I pictured myself a shaking nervous wreck incapable of sleeping, eating, or simple rational thought. Now that I’m here, with the project finishing on schedule and rehearsals going as planned, I find that I’m just fine. I suppose that speaks volumes about time and task management. I vividly remember the seniors last year that I spoke to were nervous wrecks in the week leading up to the show, and that is likely where I got the idea from. However, I have no way of knowing their individual circumstances.

Anyway, a few last logistical things to fix. The coding is now complete, with the visualizer receiving three individual inputs for the RGB values of any color I choose. All that’s left now is color mapping to Lorena’s specifications, colors that she has already given me, and then analyzing the piece of music note by note for any missing pitches in the mapping, rehearsing a second time, troubleshooting, a final dress rehearsal, and then the show next Friday. My next update will likely follow the rehearsal, and then my final update will precede the final show.

--

--