Getting Back on Track, Prepping for Show

Ryan Laux
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
3 min readApr 12, 2017

This past week my attention was away from HouseMate as I competed in the week-long film festival, Campus Moviefest. For those that don’t know, CMF is a national college film festival in which students get a week to make a 5 minute film. (If you also don’t know me personally, my primary background is in video, vfx, and motion graphics [my portfolio site]).

Working with Chris Lundy, this year we actually submitted 2 films. I couldn’t have been more proud of everyone that helped out Chris and I this year. This is our 4th year doing CMF, and we had a completely new set of team members helping us write, shoot on set, and deliver the final product. Here are a few stills from our films “Arke”, and “Obsidian”, which will screen at the finale event Wednesday April 19th at TCNJ.

Looking ahead towards the IMM thesis show, I have begun to map out how I will spend the next 2 weeks (that soon!!) prepping for my live demo. I’m currently testing the fitbit integration into my home system to see how it performs, to which I’ll then construct a few different scenes to be triggered by various input values. If all goes well, I hope to have a working demo where guests can see which input values result in certain scenes, and have the scenes transition live in front of them. I’ll also be producing a short video highlighting each element of my current home setup, to give a greater demonstration of how this system applies to the home setting.

2 Busy weeks ahead, much more to come!

--

--