Necrophobic Sprint #10

Matt Kahrer
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
1 min readApr 22, 2017

This last week was a combination of successes and setbacks. In terms of successes, I managed to get the footstep system working in the game. Now when the player moves around, footstep sounds are produced from the characters location. The sounds of the footsteps are randomly chosen from a series of sounds, and will change based on the surface the player is walking across. Also, I have added sound effects for the doors and the lever. The addition of these sound effects have helped with the overall experience of the game, and shows how important sound is to the final product.

As for the problems, the biggest one is relating to the rig for my demon model. It appears that whenever I import my model into the Unreal Engine, the mesh for the body does not import properly. I have come up with a work around solution, and will import it as a static mesh. Since most of the animation will be done with the first person camera, creating the illusion of the demon moving won’t be that difficult.

I am now approaching the final stretch for the project, as there is only one week left until the project is due. I will push on, and ensure the game is completed in time for the showcase.

--

--