Necrophobic Sprint #6

Matt Kahrer
1 min readMar 22, 2017

--

Since the spring break, I have been working primarily on the demon. I ended up working heavily on creating a skeleton for the character, so I can rig and animate him within the Unreal Engine. I also created basic constraint handles that will allow me to animate the character, and I made a basic skin bind to allow the skeleton to move the character model.

There have been some issues with getting the character to work on inside of the Unreal Engine. The engine produces an error in which it says that there are multiple roots for the skeleton. I have attempted to resolve this by inserting the skeleton into a locator in the outliner in Maya. There also appears to be an issue where the skin didn’t bind properly, and it doesn’t show up for the skeleton. This is strange, as the eyes and teeth have shown up in this model, and they have been bound to the skeleton. Despite all of this, I am learning how to work with character animation, and how to properly import them into Unreal.

--

--

Matt Kahrer

Interactive Multimedia Student and Video Game Designer