Only 1 Week Left.. Project Update & Looking Past Graduation

Ryan Laux
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
2 min readApr 19, 2017

This past week I made slow but steady progress on the HouseMate live demo. I have a solid plan on how I hope to present the project at next week’s show, so now it’s just a matter of putting together the necessary pieces to demonstrate how my system works.

As outlined on my trello, I plan on first creating 2–3 posters, providing a graphic description of the components of my home system, how it came to be, and what I hope to see it do in the future.

I also plan on producing a short video tour of my college house, showing the system in action. This will be projected at the demo, to fill the gap between the limited amount of hardware I can demo live, and what else the system can do.

Lastly of course is to map out and setup the live demo itself, which will consist of a few smart light bulbs. If all goes well, I’d like guests to be able to control the lights with their voice, ask for certain scenes, and if time permits, allow them to use a tablet to enter dummy values, such as steps per day, and have the system react to those inputs values. That might be far off for next week, but I’ll see what’s feasible and what would present well.

It’s certainly a busy week ahead, but I have a plan to get it all done!

On a side note, I’ve been applying to job after job as graduation creeps closer. Unfortunately I’ve gotten nothing back yet, so this past week and next has and will be the continued push towards contacting people, looking for more positions, and refining my portfolio/demo reel.

Stay tuned for how it all wraps up!

--

--