Optimism Art Sprint 4

Rebecca Leader
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
2 min readMar 1, 2017

This week was a lot of work on one simple thing. For the third level of the game there is a puzzle that involves moving rocks around to build something. This week I ended up spending my time trying to get a decent rock model done. The challenge was not in making the model itself. The challenge was making it look believable. Through textures I had to make this blob look like a real-enough rock. While our game is not super realistic in style I still had to make the rock look believable. I spent many hours finding images of rocks and staring at the rocks. I then had to make files that had the textures to use. I would apply a texture and boom, not a rock. Through trial and error I eventually got two rocks rendered out to show people and get opinion on them. I plan to work on these some more after getting some feedback on the initial test renders.

Rock Test Render One
Rock Test Render Two

--

--

Rebecca Leader
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017

An Interactive Multimedia Senior at The College of New Jersey. Focusing on Animation mostly for Video Games but Movies are a possibility too.