Project Update- Layer Masking and Workflow

Danny Gallagher
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
1 min readMar 30, 2017

This week, I explored using layer masks to selectively render objects to certain cameras. Originally, I was planning on creating the non-VR screen of my game using a complex series of equations, in which the position of projectiles relative to the camera would be tracked and put into the context of a unit circle, which could be tracked on the two-dimensional screen. This would also require the creation of an entire series of 2D assets, simple though they may be. As the realization that only one month remains dawned on me, however, I decided to do some more research on how to speed up this process. I decided to simply place the second camera directly below the main camera and set it to an orthographic, bottom-up view. I then used layered specific objects to allow the two cameras to cull objects they were not supposed to render. I then played with the normalized viewport to set another camera up, allowing the non-VR player to have a split screen with other indicators and mini-games. I still have to play around with creating viewport borders and separate HUD graphics, but the use of simple cull-masking and layers sped up my workflow greatly.

--

--