Senior Project Sprint 2: Planning

Kevin Bohinski
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
2 min readFeb 16, 2017

My focus for this week was to finalize the timeline and architecture for ship2pd. To accomplish this, I planned which tasks to tackle for the remaining nine weeks, and I came up with an architecture for the project.

I created mile stones for each week, starting with week six as HackTCNJ will be over then and I will have more time to work on ship2pd.

The following is a list of my weekly mile stones:

· Authentication and Profiles

· Route Planning (spans two weeks)

· Shipments and Payments

· Job Queueing System

· Frontend and Testing

· Frontend and Real Time Tracking

In terms of the architecture, as said before I plan to use Flask on Python 3, with MySQL. To accomplish this I want to use a Platform as a Service (PaaS) provider. I have decided to use Amazon’s Elastic Beanstalk with Amazon’s Relational Database Service (RDS). As the site won’t be entirely dynamic content, I plan to use Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3) in conjunction with Amazon Cloud Front to serve as a Content Delivery Network (CDN) to both reduce computation and provide faster service to customers. The site will use Amazon’s Simple Queue Service (SQS) for a job queue. Finally, the site will use Amazon’s Simple Notification Service (SNS), Amazon’s Simple Email Service (SES), and PubNub to provide updates as needed.

Below is a rough draft of a simple architecture diagram.

This post and project (ship2pd) are requirements toward a senior project at The College of New Jersey’s Interactive Multimedia Department.

ship2pd is a new kind of shipping network. By taking advantage of everyday routes, ship2pd hopes to get the package to its recipient quicker, cheaper, friendlier, and greener. Think Uber for shipping.

Mock up for ship2pd

--

--