Quan Nguyen
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
1 min readFeb 8, 2017

--

Setting and Color Choice

Welcome to the Morella Bakery~

One of the main things I deliberated over this week was the usage of color in building the verisimilitude of the universe my visual novel takes place in. My overall intent for my project is to capture a dream-like aesthetic that skirts the boundary between fantasy and realism.

The background cg in the image above depicts the Morella Bakery, which is owned by the kind and hearty Mr. Morella and staffed by the slow but sweet young woman, Alouette Bacia. Overall the color scheme reflects my intent to capture a sort of “sweets” impression. I wanted to make the scene itself seem like something you could eat with the tasty color palette utilized. As such I used creamy, light and fluffy colors and posterized the details to give it a delicate texture.

--

--