Sprint 1

Dennis Bereznyak
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
2 min readFeb 8, 2017

First I would like to provide a brief summary of what I’m striving for overall with my project, so that the specific tasks that I accomplished this week make more sense in context.

My overall project idea is to design a website for local innovative Black-Metal group Necrourgica that will focus on usability/user experience, a consistent and visually appealing design, and which will provide easy access to all the information a user may need to find.

For this week’s sprint, I accomplished 2 main goals. First off, I located an appropriate responsive template and made sure it would be suitable for my purposes. I built a responsive menu into it, which looks like a traditional navigation bar when the screen is above a certain size (desktop browsers) and then changes into a mobile menu with a hamburger icon that can be expanded to see the various pages when the screen is a smaller size (mobile browsers).

In addition, I also spent a long time trying to perfect a banner for the site which would be properly responsive with all possible browser sizes, would have a nicely positioned logo on top of it, and would also retain as much quality as possible.

A lesson I learned from the progress I made during this sprint include how to work better with responsive websites. I kept experimenting with different screen sizes using the “command-option-j” feature on Chrome which lets you mimic many kinds of mobile devices. Working with responsive sites is very different than just creating a site that is only meant for desktop. In addition, I learned a little more about working with Bootstrap.

--

--