Sprint 3

Dennis Bereznyak
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
2 min readFeb 22, 2017

This week, the first thing I did was finalize the footer section of my website. It took a lot of experimentation to get it formatted correctly with all the information that I wanted it to contain. I first tried to set it up myself from scratch but then I realized that it would be easier and would look more professional if I used an HTML/CSS footer template from the internet. I experimented with a few different templates, and finally found the one I wanted to use. It contains my 3 social media icons, a secondary nav bar, and Copyright info, all centered in the middle of the footer.

The second thing I did this week was set up the basic structure of my home page. This also took a lot of experimentation because I needed to figure out how to properly organize and format the layout of the page in order for it to be responsive. I finally decided to have the page title (“Home”) at the very top and then a paragraph underneath describing the band (which adjusts/responds to whatever size screen). Next, below that, I put a jQuery slideshow of some band photos which also took some experimentation to make function properly. Finally, at the bottom of the page I placed large icons/buttons that will link to the Music, Events, and Shop pages. Next week, I will work on creating the proper hover effect that will go over top of these buttons.

I definitely learned some important lessons through my work this week. I never realized that creating a professional looking footer was so complicated, but I finally managed to figure out how to create the design I wanted. I also learned more about using break points (which I attached to my large center buttons) in order to facilitate responsiveness. In addition, I learned about creating responsive slideshows using a combination of various online tools that I experimented with, and coding.

--

--