Sprint 3

Isabel Bryant
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
2 min readFeb 23, 2017

My concept is still not finalized. I have two ideas that I have full written storyboards for, however the question I keep coming back to is how important is a plot in this project? Do I need one? Can my project stand on its own giving the audience the experience I want without one? The idea that I wrote about last week focused on a form of video collage where each different scene has little to do with the next and doing so will allow me a greater range to show off a wide variety of foley techniques. However, foley does more than just add background sounds. Artists take on the role of the characters they are making sounds for. They have to understand how they are feeling, why they move the way they do and try and replicate and enhance the sounds in a believable way given what they know about the character and the story.

My second concept does have plot. It is within the horror genre and features the main character alone in their home with a faceless ghost/demon type character. In this concept, I do not foresee the need for an extensive library of sounds but I think the sounds will have a greater effect because it has a story to tell and thus have a larger role in the piece. This concept will not take too long to film and that will allow more of my time to go into recording the audio and editing the video. But the need for fewer sounds is still a point of worry for me. This is basically the age old question of quantity versus quality. A large sound library versus a condensed but meaningful library.

--

--