Sprint 4

Ric Selleck
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
3 min readMar 1, 2017

This sprint was a little bit different as I was asked a question and it kind of changed the mindset of my project. Not entirely but just as how to approach the project. The question was kind of two parts first why? and then how would pitch it and get people to invest? Kind of mad me think about the project and why I was actually doing it. The first reason is because I have a passion for restaurants and the concept of being an entrepreneur. The follow up question was why this idea? It’s pretty simple to me, and it was because I couldn’t just create a concept of a standard restaurant, I needed to figure out a way to tie Interactive multimedia (IMM) in to the project. That’s why the goal of this project is to create a restaurant that ties with IMM and is different.

I already knew why I wanted this project to be the one I went after the question was who would go ? and would people invest? not just as partners but as consumers? That was a tough question, becuase I believe people would go off the fact that is so different then any other restaurant experience that has been created. I referenced this new modern way of a golf driving range, called Top Golf, which provides golfers with a different driving range experience through different forms of interactivness. Food and drink were just the basics of Top Golf but what they countiued to do made them differet. They created a different experience using LED light pits where you earned point if you made it in certain colors, which were ranked by distance and other golf metrics. They used tracking devices in there golf balls to measure performance, put TV’s around so consumer could watch there favorite sports and found a way to create a more interactive golf. The question could be why if driving ranges were already a thing why make them different? Because like change and new and that’s what TopGolf bring and what I look to bring.

How would I get people to invest? I would love to be sole owner in a perfect world but what I learned in class is that tis would need a sold business plan. I now plan on drawing up and creating a buisness plan to show how to sell this concept and the return it could bring. I think there is two ways of looking at this, could go complete digital interactive business plan or your more traditional business plan which is drawn up with charts on pages. So this is what i’m taking into a count if I want to go interactive with the plan and have be digital or your standard plan.

But these are some of the questions I faced this week and it really opened up the way I think about the project and the approach to it. Moving forward I look to still do my interviews, my designs of a brand and social media outlets while creating a business plan for the project.

topgolf.com

--

--