Sprint 5

Isabel Bryant
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
2 min readMar 8, 2017

I spent most of the previous week going through my top ten films as well as several films recommended to me by friends. Based on this list and the scenes that stood out most to me sound wise, I have selected three scenes which I aim to definitely have in my project and three other scenes which I will add if time permits.

The first film I need to have is Gladiator. I chose the one-on-one fight that takes place in the Colosseum because it is easier to keep track of two combatants than twenty and it also features a wider range of metallic and terrain sounds than the final fight. I also chose Pixar’s Ratatouille and selected two cooking scenes because cooking has a very dynamic sound to it in the sense that all elements involved make a sound and the sounds last even when they are not shown directly. The last film I chose is The Breakfast Club and I selected the lunch scene. While this clip may seem simple I like the idea of exploring the different sounds I can generate by eating and then having to select which ones sound best. This particular scene has a significant amount of dialogue which begs the question of if I should have an overdub. I will answer this question later down the production line as the overdub is more of a last minute edit meant mostly for the ascetics of the project.

At this point I don’t know how long it will take to record and edit the tracks together. Because of this uncertainty, I am focusing mostly on getting the three scenes above finished and if time permits add more scenes. Among the potential films I could use, are Hitchcock’s The Birds, one of the Star Wars Original Trilogy, and a Fast & Furious film. I have not selected any particular scenes from these but as I make my way through the three main scenes I want to record, I will narrow it down further.

As for scheduling all of this, I plan to have obtained and edited the three movie clips together and have it ready to go for recording by March 20th as well as have a large collection of objects I can use for the scenes so that I can start recording as soon as possible.

--

--