Sprint 7

George Tatoris
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
1 min readMar 29, 2017

This week I edited the story and added to it. I also put what I had on the actual website to see how it looks. I want the text and story to look official, like a newspaper’s website. I have also been collecting photos from Flickr that fit with the story. I’ve found some decent photos of Nagano, the story’s first setting. There are also great photos of Costa Rica and even of my Grandmother’s alma mater, Emporia State University. I have old wedding documents and business cards that I want to scan and use, too.

I’ve been using library resources and the internet to conduct research on Japanese society throughout this time, too. I’ve found some graphs in the educational articles I’ve been reading that can help with the story. Data visualization can help the story because it quantifies things and adds to the setting.

I’ve been playing with parallax scrolling tutorials I’ve found online this week. One tutorial from w3schools looks easy to implement and promising. I’ve also been looking at the ways some people use parallax scrolling. One thing that intrigues me is the use parallax to create a 3D comic book-like effect, featured in a 2013 NY Times story called Tomato Can Blues.

It turns the story into a kind of online graphic novel. If I can find a way to do this with photos, I might use it.

--

--