Sprint 8

George Tatoris
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
1 min readApr 6, 2017

This past week I got a lot of work done with the website half of my project. After many weeks of putting this off, I’ve finally gotten parallax scrolling to work. It wasn’t that difficult. Now what I need to do is make this look interesting to the website user.

I also found several old photos that can be used in conjunction with the parallax scrolling to tell my grandmother’s story. I’m thinking of using the parallax scrolling to transition between relevant images to each chapter. I also have a new title screen at the top. Instead of a photo of my grandmother’s home town, I used a photo of her from around Christmas time when she was in Egypt. I think this is a good way to get people interested in her story. Here’s an 85-year-old on top of a camel with one of the ancient wonders of the world in the background. Who is she? How did she get there? I hope to pique readers’ curiosities then answer what questions they have. I might make the top a slider showing all of her latest adventures to drive this point home.

I took Bootstrap out of my website because I realized I wasn’t really using it for anything besides the menu, which I could format myself. It was causing me more problems than helping because there were compatibility issues with the CSS of Bootstrap and my own.

--

--