Sprint 8

Isabel Bryant
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
1 min readApr 6, 2017

Today marked the start of the Foley recording sessions. The good news is that I think I have a nice variety of sounds and I have a general idea about how to EQ them and the other filters that will help bring out the desired sound effect. Bad news is that the timing felt off. Gladiator is by far the most ambitious film I have selected for my thesis. Knowing this, it was a smart decision on my part to get this clip done early rather than later so that I can use the extra time I may have from my other sessions to rerecord as needed. Unlike the other clips, because of the speed and the amount of action featured in the clip, I may have to change my original plan for this one. The sounds I got from my session are useable, however, I think it will be necessary to approach this part like an audio collage. There is just too much going on for me to be able to account for recording live and by doing it this way I will get the same result just with smaller clips sown together rather than a large multi-layered piece.

--

--