The path towards a Minimum Viable Product

Domenic Portera
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
2 min readMar 29, 2017

I think it’s a pretty common thing for semester-long projects to start off very ambitious and scale back as time grows thin. It’s certainly something I’m going through, and as a result I’ve created a list of things I need to do in order to create a minimum viable product for my game. There are about as many tasks as there are days left until the showcase, with each task projected to take less than a day. I should be able have it playable from start to finish, but without the many flourishes and nuance I would have liked to give it.

Interactive Fiction is now functional, though bare-bones.

The end of the semester is not the end of the project, but it’s the start of my foray into the job world. Considering that this is a narrative game, I figure it’s best to tell the story to the fullest extent possible, rather than focus on making any specific part of the game look and feel pristine and fleshed out.

That being said, that work will come after the senior showcase, where I will attempt to fill in the gaps and create more cohesion of art style within the game, as well as iterate on the story and writing. I also need to flesh out sound work, which I will be outsourcing from an incredibly talented friend of mine, Mike Blutstein.

--

--

Domenic Portera
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017

Game developer and student at The College of New Jersey. Currently developing a narrative video game, Bound (WT), out in Q2 2017.