Thesis Project Week #5

Andrew Helgeson
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
2 min readMar 8, 2017

This week, I have finally come up with a title name that describes my thesis project in one word: Direction. I found this name fitting, as the whole entire end goal of the game is to find which way is the right direction to walk. For a while I was just plastering the literal explanation of the game as 3D Audio Maze, but this was too generic and was only a temporary name for the game. Direction is a simple yet clear title and fits the theme of my other classmates by giving it a real title name.

This week, I started working on the title screen for my thesis game, and right now I have come up with a basic font design and color:

This is a free font I acquired from fontspace.com. This is still a basic idea of what the final draft of the title will look like, but I plan on keeping the blue and light blue color scheme for the letters. I also am going to add moving white stars or pixels in the background while the game waits for the player to start. This type of letter style resembles popular late 1990’s video game titles, and I think it fits well with the theme. This next week, I am going to find a way to make this screen title and background move instead of being static. I am also going to be working on finishing the sound effects for the first level, so I can start working on the second level.

--

--