Thesis: Week 2

Samantha Williams
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
2 min readMar 22, 2017

This past week I decided to purchase a set of beacons to utilize for my thesis project. I decided to go with the Estimote proximity beacons, which was a great decision because the company I intern for has a set they said I could use as well. Through my research, I have found that they have 7 year battery life, with the ability to replace the battery. The range is 70 meters, which is far beyond what I think I would need for my application, and they are supported by both iOS and Android platforms. The Estimote beacons also come with a great deal of development information, making my life easier when it comes time to implement them for the application.

Estimote Proximity Beacons

My next steps will be to aggregate the content for my app. I want to begin finding individuals to record telling stories about their time on campus — I want memorable, unique stories. I already plan on interviewing John because he is an alumni of the college. I will interview my sister as well, who is an alumni. I am going to reach out to Ambassador, Student Government, and Greek Life alumni in addition to our IMM cohort. Unfortunately, the TCNJ Alumni Weekend is the same weekend as our show so I will not be able to pick up random stories before implementation. On the bright side, trying to get alumni to test out the app will be great for final user testing!

--

--