Week 11 — Let’s talk about something different.

Chris Stehm
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
2 min readApr 23, 2017

One week to go before I have to show off a website that no one will be interested in. So what did I get done within the last week? Nothing, again, because I was busy working on an amazing project for another class that ultimately failed. The project that took my time up was a guitar hero clone that you would use water guns to shoot 5 colored pads that correspond to the notes that your supposed to hit in the game. It was to be built with on a raspberry pi using two water solenoids to shoot the water, and pressure sensors behind the colored pads that would trigger a macro. Thus playing the game with water guns! Sounds good, but I ran out of skill and knowledge somewhere along the line. Tons of determination though…either way, maybe I will be able to get a working model finished for the final in that class. Maybe not.

On to my senior project! I did manage to get some work done earlier in the week. I was investigating a form slider so that I could have people signup in steps. There are a few technical challenges with this, and I tried a few solutions and all failed unfortunately. I also worked on giving employers the ability to actually review the applications that have been received. I am making a simple counter that will tell when the last time the employer looked at the applications for a particular job, and only notify them of new applications.

Looking forward to the “OMGOMGOMGINEEDTOGETTHISDONE” week, I will be mostly working on making it look really nice and shiny. I basically want to make the website look finished even if the functionality of the website isn’t fully there. The only thing I will regret not getting together is the search engine, and scheduling sign up that was pretty integral to how the website was supposed to work. In hindsight I should probably work on the main features first and then on the shinyness, but that isn’t how my project went this time around!

Summary: Other project got the overwhelming amount of my time, did manage to get a few features worked on the week before, and I am going to fake a working site for this coming friday.

--

--

Chris Stehm
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017

I am an artist, musician, developer, engineer, and learner of life!