Week 2 Sprint

Ric Selleck
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
2 min readFeb 17, 2017

Before writing about what I aclompished this week I want to talk about the concept of the project a bit more. I feel that there is a serious gap in the restaurant industry regarding the word “interactive”. There’s one player in the industry that bring interactive to the restaurant industry Dave & Busters but they bring there interactiveness through a series of activites and physical gaming.

My goal with this project is to bring interactivness thorugh technology and not just physical games. I want people competing table to table thorughout the restaurant trying to have as much fun as possible. I want to really embody the word interactive and capture the user experience. A couple of different ways of doing this, first through technology that consumers play or perform on, followed by a strong media presence that is different from your regular core social media platforms, then lastly a physical aspect of merchandise that becomes more then a restaurant but a brand that is fashionable and recognizable.

This week was actually a lot more productive then I thought it was going to be. I started off with something simple, which was just doing research on the technology that I was planning on using and finding out how it functioned. I was able to see what others are doing with the technology and how much it cost to put into place. After doing research on some of the technogoly I followed that by conacting some local (Hoboken) restaurant owners and mangers discussing oppertunites to interview them on camera. I’ll be asking them questions about the industry, there establishments and pitching my idea and getting there feedback. The last thing I did this week for my project was reach back out to Jon Taffer from Spike TV’s hit TV show Bar Rescue, Mr. Taffer knows the bar industry better then anybody else and is a noticable TV face to many. My goal is to be able to interview him through Skype, face to face or through email to get his point of view.

Below is a link to my Trello board where I have been putting alot of research and ideas. I’ve also created a few checklist to help remind me what I need to get done as well as map out my future goals.

--

--