Week 7 sprint

Robert Mineroff
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
1 min readMar 29, 2017

I came across some issues this week that i’ve been spending time trying to fix. mainly with the controls I originally had for climbing. I was coming across issues with changing the state that my player was in. Originally I hard coded in for the player to act the correct way, but my goal was to change that so that the player instead transitions over to a “climbing” state that has the player naturally in that position, and Im working on creating a state manager type class to control those different changes for the player. Additionally, I’ve worked on moving my pushing and pulling over to fixed update to make the motions smoother and less jagged then they were in regular update. I’ve also been woking towards creating the backgrounds for my game areas. Art is not a strong suit of mine, so I decided on making very simple repeatable backgrounds and visuals because too much time would be spent otherwise on creating them. I finally got rooms spawning in the way I want them too, by putting all the object in each room as children under an invisible cube that is unique for each room that can be spawned and despawned at will. I also simplified my push and pulling methods byt having the x position of cubes being set by variables present in a seperate class that only records x values. This also simplifies when I try to sync object movements across my games interpretation of time travel.

--

--