Week 10 Update for GOBAC

Christopher Gollmer
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
3 min readApr 19, 2017

Very Productive week to say the least, the problem more so is; will it be enough?

I was able to construct a rig of my golem, not the best but for what is happening right now, I think it will have to do. This rig established my senior thesis image shot which gave me a smirk and a bit of confidence.

This allowed me some time to fiddle around with marmoset toolbag 3 a little which was fun. but onto the big news was the texturing process! I have been working with substance designer for a few weeks with minimal time to my dismay but then I dedicated time to substance painter and loved the synergy between the two programs! It helped me get a good rock crack effect for my golem in the first place. but now that I’m churning out textures. I figured out a process to help speed up the flow quite substantially without going extremely crazy in Zbrush which is phenomenal. I’m pushing, but there is a lot to do with objects. I have finished the Jarl Chair, Axe Deco, Shield Deco (one of my favs), Chest, Wood barrel is normal mapped but not fully textured, Viking Turf house.

I obviously have to get a bunch more done. Which I was super happy with the results I had for this week and how my job gave me a good break to attain this with easter playing a role on a day off. If I had this amount of time I would’ve had so much more done but what can you do? I’m worried about how to attach the objects to a moveable target. In unreal’s terms now that Im thinking about it might register it as a vehicle… (maybe I need to create bones in designated locations for the buildings to attach to?)but past that, I’m stumped, and how its being showcased since getting this done has only been on my mind and not even how to present this. The weird culmination of stress and a sense of carelessness is permeating my senses.

--

--