Week of 3/1 and 3/8:

Kathleen Fox
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
2 min readMar 8, 2017

These past two weeks have been chaotic and I have had a lot of work to do in order to catch up on my project. March 1st was the opening night of Stop Kiss, a one act play written by Diana Son but on by my theatre group All College Theatre. As the publicist of All College Theatre, I was in charge of advertising the show, creating videos, applying stickers to the sleeves of coffee cups, even putting a bench on campus. In the show Stop Kiss, the two main characters have their first kiss on a bench, it was a symbolic piece of the show and I wanted to put a painted bench on campus to help advertise the show.

So the week of March 1st, a lot of thesis stuff fell into the background in order to focus my attention on Stop Kiss. I did, however, find out a lot of useful information for the marketing committee while publicizing Stop Kiss, such as the willingness of company owners near TCNJ to allows students to advertise in their stops. I also worked on a lot of revisions for my original play, Aonru, more on that in a little bit and found actors to cast in the roles.

This week, I had a little bit of a crisis when trying to finish up the script for Aonru. I found that I did not like my play anymore. The characters were flat. The story was too rooted in exposition. It wasn’t a story I was excited about anymore and in a fit of nervousness I began to write a new play called The Other Play. It tells the story of Geena, a young girl who undergoes a psycho therapy experiment in order to come to terms with her subconscious and problems. Multimedia animations are used throughout the show to reflect her subconscious. It’s a dark comedy that tackles topics like mental illness and treatment. I have attached the first draft of the script below.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1yyWAO_34TNp-CLnjs9AHWToUFKOdHH8_1Q6iPzv0tZs/edit?usp=sharing

It still needs work, but I already feel far more excited about this piece than I did about my original work. For the upcoming two weeks I have a lot of work to do. I need to get final approval from Kyle, the building manager, to come in and work on building my set during Spring Break, which is next week. I need to finalize my script, my set, and purchase the materials I’ll need.

I’m not going to lie, I’m a little overwhelmed, but I feel far happier with my current play and think I can work with it in a more intimate way. I look forward to working on it in the upcoming weeks.

--

--