Week of 4/12

Kathleen Fox
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
2 min readApr 19, 2017

This week I did a lot of work on the set. I grabbed my friend Henry and we enjoyed the beautiful weather outside chalking quotes onto the walls and pasting papers and post its onto the walls. It was a really fun time, and I’m happy with the results. Some of the things need to be taped on better and some of the quotes need to be straightened out a bit more but I think it’s working out well.

This week we did a lot of rehearsal work. We did a character workshop where I had Molly, who is playing Geena, and Natalie, who is playing Jem, answer a series of questions ( attached below) to help them understand their characters better. We came out with some really interesting backstories and odd tidbits like Jem has a strange obsession with Strange Addictions and Geena’s favorite movie of all time is Silence of the Lambs. It was really rewarding as the writer and director to see the actors really attach themselves to the characters and make them into really people. Their visions, may not match out perfectly with what I originally wrote, but I think it’s really great that they are creating ownership over their characters and developing them beyond the page.

Character Sheet:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1eRoAMk6hoJfcCGhTbpKxPZ5zceYahEBa-fTxalBz8p0/edit?usp=sharing

--

--