Weekly Sprint 3: Taking Off!

Elizabeth Davis
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
2 min readFeb 22, 2017

This week I have been really focusing on research and working on my user guide that will accompany my video game at the showcase. My goal for the user guide is to serve as supplemental information that I was not able to include as part of the game. This is partly because I don’t want to overload the user with educational information when they want to have fun, and partly because there is so much information that the game would inevitably just turn into a wall of text. Over the course of my research, it has really inspired me to create a game that will showcase the habitats that we need to protect. There are so many beautiful places around the globe that are in danger.

Also this week, I have developed the final level design for the forest level, where the main character will be a giant panda bear.

panda character
forest level sketch

The photo quality isn’t great but here is the general overview:

  • The enemies in the level will be snakes. If a player hits a snake they lose one heart. (The player gets three hearts per level).
  • Forest theme — green and brown palettes.
  • The goal is for the panda bear to get to the bamboo.
  • There will be an informational fact before and after the level.
  • The player can collect coins throughout the level that they can cash in for other species to play with.
  • The main controls will be the arrow keys and the spacebar to jump.

Progress for the coming week:

This coming week, I plan to finish the forest level in GameMaker. I would like to have this level completed and peer reviewed before spring break so that I can get a better grasp on what people like to see in a platformer game. I would also like to take time over the break to refine the details of the game and the feedback will be helpful.

--

--