Weekly Sprint #6

Alex Padrón
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
2 min readMar 23, 2017

This past sprint saw some unfortunate problems that ended up setting me back considerably. While I was pretty confident with all of my coding for user account creation and authentication, I ended up jumping the gun at the first sight of success. My JavaScript was able to pull the necessary elements from my signup html page and pass them through the Firebase-specific functions necessary for creating accounts. I was also able to implement a temporary logout button on the page, for the sake of testing that function. On the other hand, my login page began failing to accept the email and password of any created accounts, at one point.

Debugging ended up taking me much more time than I had anticipated, but I finally did find a solution. I took much of my original script and split its functions into separate JavaScript files. Both the signup and login pages ended up function as they should, and even redirected to the session pages upon logging in, thanks to the .onAuthStateChange Firebase function.

Unfortunately, I have encountered yet another problem. I created a logout button in the upper right corner of the session page, but it is refusing to login the user out, let alone redirect to the home page upon doing so. This is a very basic and important function. As such, I have to resolve the issue before progressing forward toward establishing the chat.

Because of this most unfortunate setback, I’m going to have to pour in as much time as possible to meet both of my current goals, and hopefully more, for next week.

--

--