Weekly Sprint 6

Israel Dominguez
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
2 min readMar 24, 2017

Over break I had set up a time and date to take the pictures of the outreach workers. However, due to the snow storm, I was unable to drive into Trenton and meet with them. My plans were to take head shots and interview the workers to gather information for contact page of the website. Since this plan failed we rescheduled for today, Wednesday the 22nd of March. I was successful in gathering all the material I needed. I got to take good quality pictures and I had the opportunity to know more about each worker regarding their background and how they ended up at Trenton Violence Reduction Strategy. Each outreach worker is responsible for supporting clients in the program and making sure that they are attending all their appointments. Outreach workers encourage offenders and others to refrain from violence and illegal activities as well as support them to take advantage of the social services. Overall everyone had a great time today. They expressed gratitude to me for making their website.

The Bonner program focuses on many social issues in Trenton such as Education, Environment, self-sufficiency, and juvenile justice. Bonner staff and scholars seek to collaborate with and improve many organizations and communities in Trenton. I spent most of my time as a Bonner Scholar within the juvenile justice and prison re-entry division. During the past four years I had the privilege to learn about issues of mass incarceration, re-entry, and the criminal justice system. It’s upsetting to see how people have been treated within the system. I have met people that have given up hope on life after incarceration. It is meaningful to me that I can potentially make a difference in someone’s life. Whether I’m helping them find jobs or tutoring them for the GED, I’m always passionate about helping others because everyone deserves a second chance. It’s important that Bonner runs Community Engaged Learning days for TCNJ freshmen because we form an essential bridge between the College and Trenton. We give the freshmen an opportunity to engage in the community by discussing the issues that Trenton faces today. Bonner is impactful in analyzing and teaching these issues to students so that they can be aware and take innovative actions to make a difference in their communities. I’ve gained significant knowledge and skills as a Bonner Scholar that has enriched my experience at The College of New Jersey and I’m always glad that I can help organizations that want to make a difference like Trenton Violence Reduction Strategy.

--

--