Weekly Sprint 7

Samantha Williams
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
1 min readMar 29, 2017

This week I attempted to test code that I did not write in hopes that I could then pin point the bugs in my own code, causing the beacons to be unresponsive.

I made two discoveries while attempting this — when I first tried to test the code that was utilizing the “BeaconControl” application, it would not work. This confused me because the code was well documented and used by other individuals. I then thought to download the actual Estimote application (I do not know why I did not download this sooner…).

Upon downloading the Estimote application to test the range and functionality of the beacons, I discovered that I do “not have claim” over the beacons currently. I was given the option to send an email alert to whomever has control over the beacons currently. I also plan on reaching out to individuals I know who used the beacons previously, to make sure they check their emails to see if they have received my request.

In other facets of the project, I am progressing. I have set up a time for this Wednesday morning to record a story from Matthew Middleton, a current admissions counselor and a TCNJ graduate. I have also reached out to John about recording a couple of his memories as well.

I have had thoughts about pitching my application as more of an immersive “oral history” of TCNJ now instead of an immersive audio tour. During my class critique in a couple of weeks, I will ask my classmates what they think.

--

--