Weekly Sprint 7: Bugs, Bugs Everywhere!

Elizabeth Davis
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
3 min readMar 29, 2017

So last week I made a lot of progress on the bigger parts of my game..layout, design, basic movements, etc. Turns out, that is the easiest part of this project! Now that I’ve had the major game settled, the bugs and problems started to come out this week. So, while it may seem that I did not have a lot of progress, the actual process of finding out how to solve the bugs took a lot of time and patience.

The most progress that I made this week was on finishing the layout and transfer of information from the Canva user guide to the new Microsoft Publisher document that I am making. I have included a few snapshots of how the guide is coming along. I have made a page about the planet and why it is important. I also have four pages on the featured habitats of the levels that I wanted to include originally. Each habitat has a short blurb of information, the threats it is currently facing, some locations where it can be found around the world, a photograph, and a few species who live in these areas. I also have plans to include a page about why I am making this game, how to play, and how I envision the future of this project.

our planet page
featured habitat page

As far as the physical game goes, I am still working on the graphical assets for the mini-game for the robot and garbage sprites. I am also trying to figure out why the game pause is no longer working for either game. I was able to make the panda character ‘recoil’ (jump back when hit) by a snake or a spike. I also finalized the graphical assets for the snake. I have made them red so that they stand out from the setting more, as well as make it clear to the user that it is not something to touch.

In other news on planning for the showcase, the web committee (and theme/branding) needed to start getting a graphic for everyone’s individual projects for the site. So I developed this graphic (with a little help from my friends. Thanks guys!)

project graphic

For the coming week, I would like to get my main game done, with the intent of user testing to make some tweaks before the final show. In addition to that, I need to work on the formatting of my main menu, pause, and game over screens, as well as the page that tells the user a fact before the game starts.

Generally, I would say that the main game is about 90% done, with some minor tweaks and quirks that need to be worked out over the next three weeks. I feel that I have made some great progress and I am looking forward to presenting at the showcase!

--

--