Weekly Sprint 9

Jamie Fonzino
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
2 min readApr 11, 2017

This week, I focused mainly on cutting the veteran interviews that I scavenged from the Veteran’s History Project at the Library of Congress website. There are so many amazing stories from these brave men and women who have served our country, and it was difficult narrowing down which interviews I wanted to include in my project. Luckily, the Veteran’s History Project is categorized by theme, and I used the index to find topics related to my data and research. I decided that, based on the range of topics that were in the database, I would only include information about Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and veterans with service-connected disabilities. To me, these interviews yielded some of the most powerful stories and statements, which I feel will definitely add the qualitative data that I had been looking to include. I really want people to see the numbers and statistics in each design while also getting a glimpse at the people behind those numbers and statistics. I also decided not to include interviews in each design but only the ones that focus on the main topics of the interviews. I want the viewers to stay engaged with my designs, and I feel that each design needs to have different forms of interactivity to keep the viewer interested throughout their time in the gallery.

In addition to cutting up the interviews, I can add show planning and organization to this week’s list of accomplished tasks. I sketched out a quick diagram of how I want to display my graphics and tried to decide how much space I would need. I also made a title graphic for my gallery, as well as an augmented reality video introduction for that graphic. This intro video just gives a little background about the project and how the augmented reality app works.

The only things left on my agenda are printing and testing on the full-sized prints. Hopefully, I can acquire some printer paper for a decent price within the week, but I do not think that I will be purchasing photo paper. I am planning on mounting my work, so the quality of the prints do not have to be top-notch, as most of the design lies in the augmented reality. Because of this, I think that regular paper should do the trick!

--

--