Weekly Sprint 9

Samantha Williams
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2017
3 min readApr 19, 2017

From the 20 messages I sent out to alumni, I have received responses from 4 thus far who are interested in participating in my project. These alumni include Andrew Kolodziej, Jasmine Rodriguez, and Michael Milspaugh, and Alex Zukovich. I believe most of these alumni will be sending in an audio clip through email. Alex works in Pennington and offered to come to campus, however our schedules do not match up to make that convenient for him. The individuals who have gotten back to me seem very interested in the project and are willing to help. From the alumni I have connected with and messaged through LinkedIn, three have accepted my request but not answered my message. I also forgot that every time you view someone’s LinkedIn, they get a notification. I am hoping their lack of responses do not stem from my repeated checking of their pages because they think I am a creepy stalker of some type. Also, I was able to do some mapping for the beacons this week!!!!

On Tuesday, I picked up the correct batteries that Professor Ault ordered, and put them into each of the beacons. I am happy to report that all of the beacons have successfully appeared on the Estimote powered applications available for download in the app store. There is an Estimote applications called ‘Indoor’ that allows you to place and test beacons within smaller spaces, which can get tricky due to interfering signals. I have mapped out a room in my house as a test for myself, to see how this will end up working. Estimote does suggest that you try and place the beacons higher on walls to avoid interference with the Bluetooth signals, so I tried this out by taping them about 7.5 feet off of the the ground (human bodies can negatively impact Bluetooth signals, so I wanted to make sure that they were higher than most peoples’ heads). For the coming week, I plan to be placing these around the AIMM building, after consulting my classmates about where they think the beacons would be most effective during the show. Once an indoor location map is created through the Indoor Estimote app, I will be able to input those coordinates, and test the code I have written for the Rediscover TCNJ app I hope to be showing on the 29th.

Below is a gif provided by the official Estimote blog. This does a good job of demonstrating how the indoor location positioning works. Indoor capability allows for a 1.5 meter range, which may be tricky considering my plans to put them at the end of hallways.

Gif Credit

In terms of show planning, this past week got a bit busy! I submitted the thesis show SnapChat filter, which I am happy to report was reviewed and accepted. The filter will be running from 4 PM to 10 PM on the 29th, covering the entirety of the AIMM building, and only cost $5. What a bargain. To create the filter, I utilized the Adobe Illustrator files sent to be by Devon. I pulled out a few different options, all of which consisted of the circular logo anchored at the bottom of the filter. I felt that this would be a nice focal point on the filter, while still allowing most of the screen space to showcase the projects of students.

This will be the filter for the show — the “Geofilter Template” line on top is not going to show up in the actual filter.

Additionally, I have been given access to post on the IMM Thesis Show page. Apparently, Professor Ault’s dad has been sending messages to the account — I think he was familiarizing himself with the ‘sticker’ function in Facebook Messenger.

--

--