Hello World!

Arne Van Raepenbusch
Immersive Worldbuilding
2 min readMay 12, 2019

Ever since I started out with Dungeons and Dragons, I have been releasing a creative part of me. Starting out as a DM in The world’s greatest roleplaying game proved to be a daunting task and if I knew what I was getting into, I would have cowered in a corner. Still, it has been a magical journey with a lot of learning along the way, and a lot of mistakes. Oh, the mistakes I’ve made. Some of them might be addressed in these stories, but most of them will be buried in a dungeon with thick walls where nobody can ever find them.

The most enjoyable part for me about being a Dungeon Master has been the world building. I have a serious problem strictly following the created worlds and campaigns by Wizards of the Coast. I tend to… embellish the world with my own creations. There’s nothing wrong with doing this, it is actually encouraged, but I found that you can create a plot hole quicker than you can say world building. Whenever a party of adventurers discovers an anomaly and you have to react to it in a matter of seconds… yeah… it’s carnage. Improvisation is a lot of fun, but seriously, keep track of whatever you’re dropping on the table.

I learned that world building for roleplaying games is fun, and ties in really nice with my interest in history. I’m now reading history books, not for fun, or without purpose, but as research for my worlds. Most of my fantasy world have a firm base of a historical concept or region, where around 90% is fairly realistic. However, there will always be a magical or surrealistic component to the region, which defines it as fantastical. I strongly believe that a decent amount of realism in your world allows for an easier connection with your players.

What can you expect from this series of stories? Consider them as research notes and thoughts about concepts that might be refreshing for fellow game masters.

--

--