IMOGENE’S NOTEBOOK

A Starry Night Writing Cue for Cash Prizes

Poetry for the month of May CASH competition!

Debra G. Harman, MEd.
Imogene’s Notebook
3 min readMay 15, 2024

--

stylized night sky scene, with stars and trees
canva by dgh

Cash Prize Writing: $25 for the poem with the most engagement (claps) and three cash awards for best poems! Each award for top poems will be $25 as well.

This competition is open to ALL writers with Imogene’s Notebook. Pub owner Deb will choose winners. Editors are eligible as well, so do your finest work!

Read on for specifics.

Requiem

Under the wide and starry sky,
Dig the grave and let me lie.
Glad did I live and gladly die,
And I laid me down with a will.

This be the verse you grave for me:
Here he lies where he longed to be;
Home is the sailor, home from sea,
And the hunter home from the hill
.

by Robert Louis Stevenson

The Scottish poet who wrote the poem above, Robert Louis Stevenson, lived from 1850 to 1894. I’ve always been fascinated with him. In fact, I have a personal connection to his work. My grandfather and my brother both memorized the poem above, and had a special…

--

--

Debra G. Harman, MEd.
Imogene’s Notebook

Boost Nominator | Publisher | Writer | Editor --Welcome to my world! I came to Medium as a writer, and things got bigger fast. Parasol Publications.