IMOGENE’S NOTEBOOK

Daydream

A poem

Alan Campbell
Imogene’s Notebook
1 min read2 days ago

--

Image of a man on a beach alone wandering.
Wanderer©Author ACP all rights reserved

My mind likes to wander.
Puttering in a fertile oasis.
I drift, thumbing pictures in my head.
Pristine blue waters,
towering mountains,
eddies swirling in granite boulder filled streams.

Gazing upward, I’m nestled in a bed of kelp.
Exhaling, bubbles skitter about,
arcing to escape liquid confines.
Beauty caresses me in my cocoon.

Chaos lurks nearby, angling for position.
Anxious, impatiently waiting.
Tirelessly demanding.

I slide off into an abyss,
gliding between vivid and transparent.
Past experiences so clear,
I am sure I’ve touched them… again.
Emotions stir, pure, unrefined emotions, not yet tainted by life.
A silent parade before me,
tears of joy, sadness and its tightening coil,
anger tumbling frantically, a sudden swell of pride.
Collectively they rise and fall to meet my curiosity.
Blankly, I stare, focus slowly drifts in and out, ebbing like a tide.

Today, I watched my dad as a young man pushing
a load up a hill. It was just a wheelbarrow, but it
was so real I tried to wipe the dirt off.

I’m going now, off to my safe place, where the tears
don’t hurt and the mosquito bites don’t itch, I think.

--

--

Alan Campbell
Imogene’s Notebook

A story teller. I created images for others for years. I am finally opening my creativity on the flat plane. Join me. Curious what you'll find in my words.