IMOGENE’S NOTEBOOK

I’m From Wilderness Bright and Hot

A poem

H.R. Parker
Imogene’s Notebook
2 min readJan 12, 2024

--

A young woman with long brown hair blowing in the wind stands in a sun dappled field full of flowers and flying birds.
Created in Midjourney by author

I’m from
red Georgia clay
and pines dancing in the barrens
I’m from
pea soup humidity
and sweat-drenched curls bleached by the sun

I’m from
gulf breezes
and salty kisses
and rain-lashed hurricane nights
tinged with fear and adrenaline
I’m from
waves breaking on the sand
and in my heart

I’m from
misty mountain mornings
and sugar-sweet zephyrs tinged with green
that sing through fairy-laced forests
I’m from
cold, crisp mountain streams
that run in my veins,
comingling with the sea

I’m from
wilderness
bright and hot
and endless roaring summer days
where we ran through the fields,
bare feet kissing the sandy soil of farmland
that stretched endlessly into the golden sunset
melting into trees

--

--

H.R. Parker
Imogene’s Notebook

Editor for The Kraken Lore and The Fiction Writer’s Den. Co-host of Brewing Fiction Podcast. Fiction author and poet. Give me taters or give me death.