IMOGENE’S NOTEBOOK I POETRY

My Moonlight Muse

A poem

Natalie Gasper
Imogene’s Notebook
2 min readApr 25, 2024

--

Brilliant full moon on a cloudy night
Photo by Ganapathy Kumar on Unsplash

Do you even know
we are here? You live
so far away that
we can only discern
your largest spots.

Our continents, surely, vast
and sweeping, and the swirling
oceans with their seductive, hidden
depths you’re always moving
to and fro, up and down.

When you block
the sun, are you trying
to catch a better glimpse
of us? Your solar
sunglasses, a brief
respite from the glare,
allow you to glimpse
the drop of stardust
you once gave us.

I fear we lost
it long ago.

You were closer, once, close
enough that even your smallest
blemish could be seen with naked
eyes, our goddess of the sky, unmatched
in your nightly splendor.

--

--

Natalie Gasper
Imogene’s Notebook

Writer I Poet I Reader I Daydreamer I My poetry is in dozens of journals. When I’m not writing books, I’m writing about writing. Twitter @NatalieGasper