IMOGENE’S NOTEBOOK | POETRY

My Soul Gurgles

The weighted laziness of life

Ellen Catherine
Imogene’s Notebook

--

Eerie orb floating in bubbles against a dark background
Photo by Max Kleinen on Unsplash

I hide loudly
in plain sight
tucked so tightly
within myself

lying dormant
underneath
the weighted laziness of my life

here
where fear

has found its soulmate apathy

they lounge
spooning together in
perfect
cursed union

finishing each other’s thoughts

you’re right
don’t
keep low you
won’t
get hurt

they invite pity for a threesome
find complete
inactive bliss

shhhhh
she whispers seductively
no one is noticing you
anyway

they roll and they roll
and they roll

knowing
they are welcomed
feeling
seen at last

This throuple
so content living
beneath the bowels of my life

loving
without laughter
comforting
without touch

around and around and around
they tumble

my soul gurgles with
their empty movements

hungry

--

--

Ellen Catherine
Imogene’s Notebook

Lifelong writer of essays, memoir pieces, and poetry who is working to release the ball of angst, worry, and guilt associated with said writing.