My Life in Tech………

Daisy
Impact Africa Network
3 min readNov 25, 2019

Hello world, my name is Daisy, Communication and Public Relations graduate from Moi university Kenya. And a proud member of the second cohort of the Impact Africa Network Innovation Internship program.

Growing up, I have always wanted to be part of something that matters, to be part of a cause that will really make a difference. The work we do here at Impact Africa Network has proven to be all that I wanted and more. It has allowed me to be part of an organization that not only has a vision for the growth of Africa, but also gives room for the youth to use their skills, and give their fresh ideas to the world.

Impact Africa Network has given me the opportunity as a fresh graduate to get the real feel of the real world and how it works. It has given me the chance to learn and interact with very talented, very smart individuals from all fields. I have had the chance to not only watch them work, but also learn different skills. In the six months that I have been here, I have not only gained experience, but also a new family. With a CEO who believes that Africa is the next big thing and is dedicated to show just how beautiful Africa is to the world.

Being part of the fundraising team has been an experience like no other. Our main task is to identify and reach out to people who may be able to offer assistance in this journey to the digital transformation of Africa. Many people have seen the work that we have done and believed in us enough to donate to the amazing future of Africa.

Our champions so far

The first response I ever got from our outreach I must say was one of my proudest moments in the team! The fundraising team has given me an opportunity to not only learn more about the tech and business world, but also to interact and talk to several big wigs in the tech industry from all over the world. Among the projects we have done as a team are the 100 founders Challenge and the diaspora challenge which were both very successful, but I must say that my favorite project was the Black in Tech challenge where we reached out to people of color from all over the world, it was encouraging to see many black women just like me being creators and making the world a better place, exactly what I wish to do.

I must say being part of this team is one of my proudest achievements and I wouldn’t trade this chance.

If I were to mention a few things I have taken from my time here, I can proudly say teamwork, self-motivation and dedication to work. My passion for technology has grown a hundred-fold. The work we have been and are continuing to do are reflections of Africa’s future. The evolution of technology starts with us. Watch out world! Great things are coming your way!

Impact Africa Network’s Innovation Interns 2019

--

--