TOOF’s First Internal Hire

The Other Ones Foundation
Austin Impact Accelerator
2 min readSep 9, 2019

We finally accomplished something that has been a vision for us since our inception: Transition a client from the Workforce First Program to a full time TOOF employee! It took a while for the right job opening to align with the right candidate, but we are happy to welcome Hank to our staff.

I sat down with Hank after his third day as a crew lead, and he told me this: “I’m still growing, I’m still a client, I’m still trying to get housing. But a person shouldn’t have to have a condo to be able to work. When I first started working with TOOF, I made it my job to be very polite, respectful, to be on time. I really like this job, It was something that I wasn’t looking for… I didn’t want to have to report to someone else for a ‘nothing’ job. This is not a ‘nothing’ job. This turned me on, this is worth doing. It’s about the people that you are working with, for, and around. You must have some affection for what you’re doing for a living, and I have that here.”

We are blessed to have Hank as a coworker and friend. Not only is he a skilled crew lead, but a trained carpenter, guitarist, and singer! As people go from being isolated to being involved in, and of service to, a community, the change that often overcomes them is profound. Watching folks remember that they are of value is an amazing experience, and we are lucky to play even a small role in this process. Hank described it this way:

“When you are alone for so long, your mind is in a prison. Sometimes, all you need is someone on the outside to remind you: You are the only one who holds the key.”

--

--

The Other Ones Foundation
Austin Impact Accelerator

The Other Ones Foundation transitions Austin’s homeless neighbors into an engaged community through shelter, opportunity, and support.