Why collaboration matters

Jay McCullar
Austin Impact Accelerator
1 min readJul 17, 2019

Collaboration and team building are cornerstones for working with the population of students (African-American and Latinx males) we are serving through the My Brother’s Keeper Scholars Program. It truly takes a community to effectively support these young men. Through working and partnering with key stakeholders, students in our program can see themselves in a diverse range of careers and be exposed to opportunities beyond their normal reach. There is real power in envisioning yourself doing something you love and seeing someone that looks like you or has a similar background as you doing it. Many of the students we support will be first-generation college students. If they can be successful while in college and graduate, they will not only be a blessing for themselves but for their families as well. A generational blessing. I was first-generation and because I went to college and graduated I was able to help my younger siblings explore that same path. I was able to help them navigate the resources and be successful. Each of my siblings is successful, in careers they enjoy, and change the narrative for not only themselves but also for each of their families.

--

--