Acceptance and Moving On

Omori’s Touching Final Music

--

You decided to escape the White Space, and face reality, and now you have reached the end. There’s no telling what might happen, and well, things have changed a lot. The people you know aren’t the same anymore, and they have all changed and grew up. Yet, there’s still hope for you! Take a walk and don’t forget that you are never alone. While those memories of your childhood are still memories, they are still important, and you must never forget them.

This is what this final song from Omori makes me feel. It tells me to move on from the past, and accept that people change and there’s nothing left to do but continue walking forward. I love this final song from Omori, it’s so cathartic for me, makes me think of when I was young and brings a tear to my eye remembering my own memories. This is primarily why I wanted to make a separate archive for these ending songs, as they are just so good and wonderful not to mention on their own.

The songs use of piano and violin, making this “final duet” just is so impactful for me, and I don’t really know why. They work together so well, and make me think of so many things. So many emotions just sweep me away hearing it. Its reminiscent of classical music yes, but it’s different. It’s soothing, short and to the point with just so many thoughts and ideas put into it. It because of this song that I just feel at peace. I reach a catharsis within myself as the soothing song plays and I could literally listen to this song on repeat for hours. It’s something that other music just can’t do for me.

Following “Final Duet” is one of the ending themes from the game. Yes this game has multiple endings, and while the other ending song is also very good, I wanted to focus more on the one I got, because it well follows the emotion I’ve been feeling so far with this game. Again, I feel nostalgia which is immensely weird because it hasn’t been that long since I beat the game. It makes sense for music from Pokémon Mystery Dungeon but not for this game. Yet, I feel like that just goes to show how just impactful this music is. It makes me feel things and reach catharsis with myself. It makes me ponder who I am as a person and further develops my taste for this type of music.

This is something I think many people miss out on when it comes to listening to video game music. Not many people actually give these songs a chance, and in doing so, miss an experience that other songs can’t give them. That’s why I’m happy that I did, and why I’m archiving them so other people can also hear these songs and feel emotions in a similar fashion that I did. I whole heartedly recommend to listen to Omori’s full soundtrack and to also play the game. It’s an experience that really made me happy all the way throughout. The music made me feel sad but afterwards hopeful, it brought emotions from me that made me reflect on myself and realize I am never going to be who I used to be, but that’s okay! People change, and we move on, we accept this and continue onwards with our life. Omori’s music demonstrated this to me without needing to say anything, and honestly, I hope people give music from these games a chance, because in them, there could be a hidden gem that can call out to them as Omori did for me.

This is the ending of this journey, to return to the game screen and go down another path, select “Load Save File” and continue down another path. Or let the playlist end, and then continue onwards.

Load Save File

Works Cited

Silva, Pedro. “OMORI — Final Duet.” YouTube, uploaded by OMO CAT, 20 Dec. 2020. https://youtu.be/8ya9EhvcNsA

Silva, Pedro. “OMORI OST — 177 Good Morning.” YouTube, uploaded by OMO CAT, 8 Jan. 2020. https://youtu.be/1yIcUg5FyIs

--

--

Andres Casillas
Impact of Music in Videogames on My Identity

A peep just trying to write some neat stuff while praising the sun! "Farewell good writer, and may you find your worth in the living world!" -some doll