Love and String Theory.

Roboteich
Impersonal
Published in
3 min readOct 2, 2017

My older brother’s wedding existed in an alternate universe in which I give him advice. Marriage is easy though. Just like String Theory, it’s all about perspective. At least that’s what I led the wedding party to believe in this speech for Matt and Mickey originally given on 07/31/2015. Mazel Tov!

What sup wedding party!? You may or may not know me, so let me introduce myself. I’m Ross, the best man here and Matt taught me how to be his older brother by being mine. It’s not really that complicated when you look at it from the right angle. He’s two years older than me but I’m married 8 years (Wednesday) so I’m the older brother… by marriage.

Growing up in the 1980’s I had two keepers, a Trapper Keeper and my big brother. It had to be a big job, looking out for someone with my condition that is. Born in 1981 I suffer from borderline millennial disorder. This requires constant praise for the infinite things I’m unqualified to do and almost never work hard enough to see through. It kind of went like this:

When I couldn’t walk myself to school. Matt did.

When I thought I could win a fight with Kevin Murphy, nah ah. Matt did.

When I didn’t have something to say. Matt Did… well when I did or didn’t have something to say. Matt did.

When I didn’t think he was funny. Matt Did.

When no one thought I was funny. Matt Did.

When I didn’t think I should tagalong. Matt did.

When I thought maybe I shouldn’t eat unwashed grapes. Matt did.

When I didn’t think I’d get called back for Coaches practice. Matt did.

When I didn’t think getting high in Chicago was a good idea. Matt did.

When I didn’t think I’d be successful. Matt Did.

When my dad got sick and I just couldn’t take care of things. Matt did.

When I couldn’t travel to be together. Matt Did.

When I didn’t have any answers. Matt did.

When I didn’t have a point. Matt did.

Sounds like Matt can do anything. I know right? Confidence has never been an issue for him. We’re so different in that way, and I couldn’t be more grateful, because it really taught me how to see things from another perspective.

What I have to say can’t technically be advice, because speaking as the Older brother by marriage to my older brother by calendar age I’m only sharing the perspective on perspective I learned from him. Essentially Matt is saying this to himself. That’s the funny thing though, he’s not just himself now. He and Mickey are of two minds.

Like I said though, it’s not that complicated, This is simple stuff, just like String Theory. String theorists explain a number of otherwise inexplicable phenomena by thinking about the universe in not only the 4 observable spacetime dimensions of height, width, length, and time but sometimes up to 22 extra dimensions we cannot physically experience.

Your view of this microphone is not the same as my view of this microphone, yet they both exist, simultaneously and harmoniously.

I talked about the chemistry of satisfaction at my brother Sean’s wedding, so It’s only fair that I wrap up my point here with particle physics. You, two different people exist together as a single entity. You are multiple perspectives all at once. Things look different in different dimensions, but if you really understand the other perspectives you don’t need string theory to work it out.

--

--

Roboteich
Impersonal

Midwestern creative technologist, designer, artist, writer, runner, leader, comic, dad, empath and member of the dead dad’s suicide club. https://roboteich.io